COUNT IT ALL JOY 

James 1:2-8 (NKJV) Profiting from Trials

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

How many people count it all joy when they are going through difficult times? Is your usual response – buy a cake and lets celebrate this difficult season? 

Please listen when I say: that I know this article will be as much for me as for you. I am the one writing it, however it’s God giving me the wisdom on the content. And why – would you say? Well honestly because this is one of my weak areas as well.  

When things go wrong I Like ( no really like ) to complain. When I go through difficult or unfair times, I complain. For the past week I have tried to live one day with patience by saying no negative word at all. Well I have to try harder because I failed every single day, including today. So tomorrow is my next try, God give me strength not to give up please. 

Hear me on this: The very thing that is going wrong, is difficult or not fair – God wants to use to build your character. It’s not happening TO you – NO, it’s happening FOR you. To develop you, to strengthen you in that area and to build you up. You may run from the assignment as much as you want, it won’t go away until you pass the test, gratuated and ready to move to the next level. 

Let’s say you are tired of someone at work, he/she works on your nerves does not understand you, does not know anything of your assigned area and so on. You CAN’T wait for this person to leave, you would want them to move to another job, state or country today. Well you might want to rethink this because guess what? If you did not pass the test with that person you may get a new person to work with, who tops of the first person. And when you did not pass the test with that person either, well yet another person that tops of both previous ones together.

Don’t delay your exam by running away because you won’t be happy when you do. It’s a hard lesson (my stubbornness)  believe me, it’s my current testimony. 

If we take the example of above. If we do not respect the people God places in our lives, we do not respect God. Nothing happens outside of God, so the person assigned to you was approved by God. Now you can complain about this OR you can ask God to teach you what he wants you to learn in this and then move to the next lesson – upgraded.

We as believers also need to be careful on how we react because who knows, the Holy Spirit might use you to get people to accept Jesus because you are a good (example) believer in Christ.

We could replace work related person mentioned above with: father, mother, children, friends, enemies  etc. 

please know that I don’t think that God’s reason to allow hardship is to test us but to grow us to become more like Christ. 

Hebrews 12:11 (KJV):  Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.

Let’s look at how Elijah dealt with his enemies maybe this will help us get better in dealing with ours. 

1 Kings 18:36-37 (KJV) And it came to pass at the time of the offering of the evening sacrifice, that Elijah the prophet came near, and said, Lord God of Abraham, Isaac, and of Israel, let it be known this day that thou art God in Israel, and that I am thy servant, and that I have done all these things at thy word. Hear me, O Lord, hear me, that this people may know that thou art the Lord God, and that thou hast turned their heart back again.

1. Elijah turned to God and acknowledged that he was a servant of God needing God and working for God.

2. Elijah prayed to God – in order for God to receive the glory and not himself.

3. Elijah prayed that God would turn his enemies hearts back to God, caring for their salvation. 

For the ones that are not familiar with Elijah story: His enemies were actually out to kill him, however look at Elijah’s response. That response is amazing, only through God is this possible. 

This is just a small piece on How Elijah dealt with his enemies because there are many more examples of him in the Bible. 

Next time during difficult times, don’t complain and don’t cry – trust God. Count it all Joy and handle it as Elijah did, if you do you might be on the road to your next level soon. 

Remember God loves you much❤️ 

Saludos Romy Ras

