What is using God’s name in vain? Let’s look at what the bible has to say about this topic.

You must not use the name of the Lord your God to make empty promises. If you do, the Lord will not let you go unpunished. Exodus 20:7

So have you promised anything to anyone using the name of the Lord and then went on with life not fulfilling the promise you made? If you did then go fulfill the promise you made because as you can see God does not take this lightly, he even has a verse just on making promises. It says this:

You have heard that it was said to our people long ago, ‘When you make a vow, you must not break your promise. Keep the vows that you make to the Lord. But I tell you, when you make a promise, don’t try to make it stronger with a vow. Don’t make a vow using the name of heaven, because heaven is God’s throne. Don’t make a vow using the name of the earth, because the earth belongs to him. Don’t make a vow using the name of Jerusalem, because it also belongs to him, the great King. And don’t even say that your own head is proof that you will keep your promise. You cannot make one hair on your head white or black. Say only ‘yes’ if you mean ‘yes,’ and say only ‘no’ if you mean ‘no.’ If you say more than that, it is from the Evil One. Matthew 5:33-37

🤔 how many times do we use: I swear on such and such? Well in the above it clearly says we should not swear on anything because we own nothing not even our own hair, it all belongs to God. God simply says that our YES should mean YES and our NO should mean NO, period. 

Now let’s talk about pop music, how many times do you sing a song in which they use God’s name in vain? You repeating it makes you guilty. How many songs use God’s name as a curse word or use God’s name in a song that portrays a sinful life. (Songs about fornication, murder, lying, sex outside marriage, relationships outside of marriage, committing suicide, drugs and so on) let’s see what God says about this: 

Don’t change yourselves to be like the people of this world, but let God change you inside with a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to understand and accept what God wants for you. You will be able to know what is good and pleasing to him and what is perfect.Romans 12:2

 If you think you can fool God, you are only fooling yourselves. You will harvest what you plant. If you live to satisfy your sinful self, the harvest you will get from that will be eternal death. But if you live to please the Spirit, your harvest from the Spirit will be eternal life.Galatians 6:7-8

I tell you that everyone will have to answer for all the careless things they have said. This will happen on the day of judgment. Your words will be used to judge you. What you have said will show whether you are right or whether you are guilty.” Matthew 12:36-37

How many people use Jesus name as a curse word in general? Do you know what God says about that? 

Words from the wise bring praise,but words from a fool bring destruction. Ecclesiastes 10:12

Those who say bad things about you. Your enemies use your name falsely. Psalm 139:20

Jesus name is extremely important to God and it’s a Holy name:

So God raised him up to the most important place and gave him the name that is greater than any other name. God did this so that every person will bow down to honor the name of Jesus. Everyone in heaven, on earth, and under the earth will bow. Philippians 2:9-10

What about when we say we are a Christian or a believer of God? If we say we love God however do not follow his commands? Well that is also using his name in vain. The bible says this about it: 

Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ but you don’t do what I say. Luke 6:46 

“Not everyone who calls me Lord will enter God’s kingdom. The only people who will enter are those who do what my Father in heaven wants. On that last Day many will call me Lord. They will say, ‘Lord, Lord, by the power of your name we spoke for God. And by your name we forced out demons and did many miracles.’ Then I will tell those people clearly, ‘Get away from me, you people who do wrong. I never knew you.’Matthew 7:21-23

We live on earth respecting other people names more than we respect God name. Do you use your own name when you curse? Do you say (ohh own name) as you use God’s name for many statements in life that are totally not about God?  No you don’t, do you use your boss name in such manner? What about your children’s names or parents names – no right? When you do bad things against the teachings and standards you received from your parents, do you say to people I did it because I love my parents, do you even mention your parents names in such??? NO RIGHT? This is what the bible says about it: 

The Lord All-Powerful said, “Children honor their fathers. Servants honor their masters. I am your Father, so why don’t you honor me? I am your master, so why don’t you respect me? You priests don’t respect my name. “But you say, ‘What have we done that shows we don’t respect your name?’ Malachi 1:6

One day I was listening to music and I thought it was okay to just skip singing the part where they use God’ s name. It went well many times were I would skip that part, until one day I sang it. It made me realize that we are not strong enough to try to do right when we listen to wrong. 

Your boasting is not good. Do you not know that a little leaven leavens the whole lump? Cleanse out the old leaven that you may be a new lump, as you really are unleavened. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed. Let us therefore celebrate the festival, not with the old leaven, the leaven of malice and evil, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth. 1 Corinthians 5:6-8

Today I wanted to write about broken hearts, I prayed last night and asked God what he wants me to write about. I woke up with using God’s name in vain in my thoughts. So I believe that this is what God wants me to write about today. It’s not about me, it’s about God. To God goes all the glory.

Before I started with my blog this morning God gave me Psalm 119:33-40 in my bible to read. I believe these verses are good to share in the ending of my blog. We can do nothing on our own, we need God every day. 

A beatiful prayer to pray: Psalm 119: 33-40: 

Lord, teach me how your orders direct me to live. Then I will live that way to the very end. Help me understand your law so that I may follow it. I will obey it with all my heart. Teach me to live as you command, because that makes me very happy. Make me want to follow your covenant laws, instead of wanting to gain things only for myself. Turn my eyes away from things that are worthless. Keep me alive as you have promised. Keep your promise to me. Then other people will have respect for you. Please don’t let me be put to shame. Your laws are good. I really want to follow your rules. Keep me alive, because you do what is right. Amen.

God loves you much❤️

Saludos Romy Ras

