Tonight I had a conversation with my 16 year old daughter. God had told me some days ago already to start to study the bible with her. God reminded me yesterday, however when I approached her she was busy. Today God reminded me again so I finally obeyed. We started with a prayer and then opened the bible by a story where people choose to trust in people instead of God. At the end the people stayed behind afraid and ashamed and no place to hide for failing to trust God. 

We talked about it and concluded that it is best to trust God. I then said okay and wanted to get up, she then said mam really you want to get up already. So I asked her if she wanted to do another one and she said yes. 

Now JD had the bible and God showed her two story’s. Nr: 1 – a story of a king that did not serve God faithfully but only out of the act of good deed, this man at the end was killed in his bed and placed in a normal grave. Nr:2 a story of a man that served him faithfully and with his whole heart, he rebuild God temple with love and at the end made it stronger than before. He died and was buried with kings. It did not take her much time to see who had a more purposeful life and it thought me a lesson too.

We talked about:  that it could mean God wanting her to build up her life in him and that this time it would be stronger than before. She than said: mam I try but everytime when I want to do good I do wrong. Everytime when I’m listening to rap music and pop music I know it’s wrong and I want to stop but then go back to it again. Then when I hear the bad words again I want to stop but then go back and listen to it even more. When I don’t want to talk bad anymore or be disrespectful I do good for two days and then go back – being worse then before. 

Mam I try but it is hard and I fail so I just give up. Mam: what is God going to do with me if I can’t do any good and do wrong. I’m not strong enough mam, I am weak. 

At that moment God reminded me of how many times I had failed before and still do. God reminded me of his constant love, patience and acceptance. I started to share this with my 16 year old, I said JD for 8 years I failed God many times however God never gave up on me. I tried not to listen to certain music but I would always go back to it, but God never gave up on me, he loved me anyways. I knew that not being married and living with a man was outside of God’s blessing however I did it anyway even after God had showed me how bad it was. But God did not give up on me, for years he would gently remind me that this was not his best for me. He whispered it until my heart was ready to accept it. 

God does not want you to be perfect, the important thing is that you choose Jesus as you are right now. Your heart choosing Jesus is what counts, anything else will follow if needed. She then said but mam I don’t even know if I really want to follow Jesus out of love or out of fear. I then told her that our hearts are no good and that we can’t accomplish anything good without God. I told her that I ask God to change my heart, to give me his heart because I want to love him but need him to do so. That when I fail I ask him for foregiveness and strength to do better next time. That we can’t do this on our own but need him. 

I told her that Jesus knew when accepting the cross that she would sin and sin again, but because he loves her so much he choose the cross anyway so that she has a change to be saved. That he does not need her to be perfect because he will be strong where she is weak (2 Corinthians 12:9)

God asked me to be gentle with her and understanding because I had been in that same place myself several times and I’m still not perfect and still need God every day and always will need God. God’s Wisdom is amazing. 

The wisdom that comes from God is like this: First, it is pure. It is also peaceful, gentle, and easy to please. This wisdom is always ready to help people who have trouble and to do good for others. This wisdom is always fair and honest. ( James 3:17)

You know often times when my daughter made missteps I would lecture her, with no good results. It would close her heart for the good things I wanted her to see and accept. I was not following God, I was being defensive and judgemental and a hypocrite because after all  I still sin too. I might have moved up a tiny little bit but I’m no where close to perfect. 

Be Careful About Criticizing Others. Don’t judge others, and God will not judge you. If you judge others, you will be judged the same way you judge them. God will treat you the same way you treat others. Why do you notice the small piece of dust that is in your friend’s eye, but you don’t notice the big piece of wood that is in your own? Why do you say to your friend, ‘Let me take that piece of dust out of your eye’? Look at yourself first! You still have that big piece of wood in your own eye. You are a hypocrite! First, take the wood out of your own eye. Then you will see clearly to get the dust out of your friend’s eye. Don’t give something that is holy to dogs. They will only turn and hurt you. And don’t throw your pearls to pigs. They will only step on them.( Matthew 7:1-6)
You know I would love for my kids to serve God and live for him but what good will it do if they do it because I say so? Remember the two story’s God showed JD? No it has to come from their heart and the only way is – if I’m honest about my journey and understanding of theirs. God says:Train up a child in the way he should go,And when he is old he will not depart from it.(proverbs 22:6) well I will do my best to do that by trying to be completely humble and gentle and patient, bearing with one another in love.(Ephesians 4:2) with all the help of  Jesus, Amen. 

I think that for me sometimes I want people to see God’s love so bad that I forget that love covers a multitude of sins. How am I any better if I forget to love as God loves me? Does God not want his people to be saved? Im sure he does, however he lets people choose and continues to show them love – unconditional love. We love him because he loved us first, thank you God. God is worthy to be praised, All the glory belongs to God – Amen. 

God loves you much ❤️

Saludos Romy Ras

